Wins, Losses & Listens – 001

This is a new type of post. At least once a week, I want to check in with you all and myself to let you know what’s going on. I’m calling it Wins, Losses, and Listens. I think it’s necessary to chronicle my life, and I think this will be a good way to do so. This post will have 3 major components: Major successes, You Done Pissed Me Off, and I Been Listenin. 

  • Wins – Major Success – successes that have been achieved in my life or the lives of those around me

  • Losses – You Done Pissed Me off – someone or something in this world is bound to piss me off once a week and instead of bitching to no one, I’m gonna bitch to you

  • Listens – I Been Listenin – music, a podcast, audiobook, what have you. What have I been excited to listen to

Wins – Major Success

Let’s get this thing started the right way with some Major Successes. A few weeks ago, I began cleaning and rearranging my office, and I finally took the box of crap out to the storage closet downstairs. I also managed to get a new desk (and put it together) and get a new chair (I also put that together). I launched this blog, This is Where I’m At, and I’ve written a few blog posts to be published in the near future.

Losses – You Done Pissed Me Off

This week in YDPMO it’s the damn hurricane, Irma. Or better yet, our Cheeto in Chief and his followers and enablers that don’t believe that climate change is real. Scientists have already began studying how and why the past few hurricanes have been so huge and guess what’s at the top of their list of causes…..climate change. In other YDPMO news, the furniture you purchase from walmart says that it’s easy to put together, but I damn near broke a sweat and my tools trying to put this shit together. 

Listens – I Been Listenin

This week, I listened to Charlamagne tha God’s Book, Black Privilege: Opportunity Comes to Those Who Create It. It was quite insightful, inspirational and motivational. I also listened to XXXTentacion’s album 17. After a cosign from Kendrick Lamar, I figured I’d give it a shot and I must say, I was blown away. It’s actually quite good and different from his other music. I may even do an album review after a few more listens.

I hope you guys enjoy these posts and that they continue. If you guys have suggestions for I been listenin, please let me know and I’ll get to it. Until next week, This is Where I’m At.

Leave a comment